Deerhoof offer free download of live album

September 23, 2011

So Deerhoof, that anti-est of pop bands from California are not stopping in your city during their tour? They are offering a free download of their live album 99% Upset Feeling. Recorded during their current tour, it is 11 tracks long and only about 33 minutes long (typical compact but potent angular rock from the group). Dates so far are:


23 Cincinnati, OH Know Theatre (Midpoint Music Festival)
24 Champaign, IL Polyvinyl’s 15th Anniversary Party at Pygmalion (Braid, Xiu Xiu, and many more)
25 Chicago, IL Bottom Lounge (Trin Tran, The Cloak Ox)
26 St. Louis, MO Luminary Center for the Arts (Sleepy Kitty)
28 Ithaca, NY The Haunt (Keir Neurings, Powerdove)
29 Cambridge, MA Middle East (The Toughcats, Fat Worm of Error)

01 Washington, DC 9:30 Club (Benjy Ferree)
02 Asbury Park, NJ ATP Asbury Park Convention Hall & Paramount Theatre (w/ Portishead, Mogwai, Battles, Earth, and more) <– Ugh! Super jealous of anyone he can see that show!

Anyway, finally here’s the link to the free album (you can also choose to stream it, if you prefer):

Download 99% Upset Feeling

It should be fun to hear, but not as fun as watching (we here in Miami have yet to get a visit). The band is truly in genre all its own. I wrote a special review for them earlier this year: Deerhoof vs. Evil: a Technicolor listening experience on pink vinyl.

(Copyright 2011 by Hans Morgenstern. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without permission.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: